In the era of digital communication, the security of sensitive data is more important than ever. In recognition of this need, we have implemented a tool that allows our customers to securely share sensitive data with us and access the data we've shared with them.
The Secure Vault feature is a tool designed to ensure the safe transmission of sensitive information within our helpdesk. This tool provides a robust and secure way for users to share sensitive data such as passwords, SSH keys, website logins and other valuable credentials that should not be communicated in plain text or by email.
Instead of sending sensitive information in an unencrypted form, this tool enables you to send data to encrypted and stored with 256-bit AES encryption, bolstered with PBKDF2 key strengthening.
What's more, you have full control to remove or update any sensitive data that has been stored.
The Secure Vault feature is a testament to our commitment to providing secure, confidential services to our customers. We encourage you to take advantage of this feature to ensure the security and privacy of your sensitive data.
When submitting or replying to tickets, you will have the option to include Secure Data. Here's how you can do it:
Submit a Ticket: When you are submitting a new ticket, you will find new text fields which allow you to supply secure data.
You can supply a description of the secure data (so we understand what it is) and the secure data itself. For instance if you need to share the login to your domain registrar, you could enter Domain Registrar Password as the description and then supply the password in the secure data content box. In your ticket body, you can then reference the secure data description.
Reply to a Ticket: In the ticket view, you can also manage your secure data so you may reference these in your replies. Click the "Manage Secure Data" button in the reply form, and you'll be able to add new secure data or amend existing.
If we have shared any secure data with you, you can access it through the ticket view. In the ticket body which you will receive by email, we'll include a reference to the secure data so you can find it in your Secure Data Vault.
Open the Secure Data Vault: In the ticket view, click the "Manage Secure Data" button. This will open the Secure Data Vault which contains all the secure data linked to that ticket.
View Secure Data: In the Secure Vault modal, you can view the description of each item and copy the content to your clipboard by clicking the "Copy to Clipboard" button.
Edit Secure Data: If you need to update the secure data, you can do so by clicking the "Edit" button next to each item. You can then Save Changes to store this in the vault, the vault will then re-load with the new data stored.
Delete Secure Data: If you wish to revoke our access to any data you've shared, you can click the "Delete" button next to the item, or "Erase All Data" button to delete all items. This will permanently erase the sensitive information.
Remember, once you delete a piece of secure data, we will no longer be able to access it.
We will only store secure data for up to 30 days after a ticket has been closed. This ensures we are not storing data for longer than we may need to. You may of course delete the secure data stored before this time, and a button also exists to remove all of the data in that tickets vault.
Powered by WHMCompleteSolution